Stay positive…….stay positive

Keep your fingers crossed for my girl.
Keep your fingers crossed for my girl.

I’m functioning in robot mode today. Doing what I have to do. Keeping busy. Acting normal.

To outsiders I am just my normal me. Doing my job, conversing with everyone as normal, smiling, laughing……….

But to those who know me, they’re aware that something is not right. They have heard it in my voice. The tone has altered. There is a ‘serious’ undertone that they have detected. And they would be correct. There is something serious happening in my world.

My gorgeous Almond is off to the vet tomorrow morning for a surgical procedure. She has a lump on her toe that is very likely cancerous so the vet will be amputating her toe and sending tissue samples off to a lab for analysis. I have to think positively that the lump is contained within the toe because if the lab results are not good news then my darling girl will be back under the knife again and may have to lose the leg.

I have a silly hope that the vet will cut open the lump and discover that it is just an infection caused by a rogue grass seed. Seed removed, site cleaned, toe remains on foot and she is home tomorrow night groggy from the anaesthetic, with a sore foot and an Elizabethan collar around her neck to prevent her from pulling at the dressing. That is the best-case scenario.

Worst-case scenario is that she has an aggressive form of cancer and it has already spread to her lymph nodes and other organs. That, however, is a reality that I am not willing to contemplate at this stage.

So fingers crossed please everyone. I need Miss Almond to be happy and healthy for her 4th anniversary on the 18th.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

Leave a comment