Sorry!! I’ve been a bit busy.

_SBB4034.jpg

The caged beast has been released and is back wandering the streets of her marvellous Melbourne with her camera at the ready.

After almost two weeks of feeling like crap, thanks to some wicked cold virus, I finally felt well enough to accept invitations to go out and mingle. And what a weekend to mingle! The weather this weekend has been truly magnificent. Neither too hot, nor too cold. The sun shone and people were out in their thousands…….me included!!!!

Honestly, I can’t tell you how wonderful it felt to be feeling well enough to get out and live again. There has been so much going on in the photography world while I have endured a state of self-imposed ‘quarantine’ that the FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) I was suffering was almost worse than the illness itself.

AND…………it’s Xmas time….. (That thing that I’m not overly excited about.) which means that there are dinners to attend because this is the time of year when people decide to have that annual work party and that special dinner with friends and/or family.

So it has been dinner Friday night, work Saturday morning, photography ‘excursion’ Saturday afternoon, dinner Saturday night followed by a catch-up with friends today which became an all-day photography excursion in my marvellous Melbourne.

Some 600+ photos later and I find myself hanging out washing at 11:00pm on a Sunday night and trying to decide on the photo I want to share with everyone. And let me attempt to briefly outline what I captured over the last two days. Melbourne University graduates, skateboarders, dogs, a wedding that we happened upon, numerous brides, wonderful beards, fabulously attired people, a gorgeous red-head, my fellow photographer, graffiti, restaurants, market stall-holders, homeless people, cafes, Xmas decorations, salsa dancers, choirs, buskers, hidden laneways, arcades, ceilings, floors, artists at work…………. and my dad. Bloody hell, I’m exhausted trying to remember it all!

I probably should have been preparing for that event that’s happening in a couple of weeks. I probably should have been doing some housework. I probably should have been doing lots of stuff that I probably should have been doing. Lol!!! But instead I was out with people I care about………. doing something I love. And I am as high as a kite with happiness. 🙂  So I reckon I more than probably did exactly the right things this weekend.

 

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

3 thoughts on “Sorry!! I’ve been a bit busy.”

Leave a comment