Bocce anyone??

Bocce in the park
Bocce in the park. The boss man in action.

The old boys were out in force today in Queen’s Park. The sun was shining, the breeze was mild, the court had been swept of leaves and the wives wanted them out of the house. It was Bocce day.

Now this is a very serious business. There was the boss man, the important man with the tape measure, the other male competitors and the male spectators. This is a man’s game. And at Queen’s Park in Moonee Ponds, this is an Italian man’s game.

It may be played at a seemingly leisurely pace but these boys are serious. The tape measure comes out to confirm positions and closeness to the ever important jack. There are rules. There is the ‘code’.

I had never seen the game up close but I must say I was impressed by the Bocce balls. Each man has his own set and they are all recognisable by their distinctive and individual markings. Almost like tribal tattoos are the etched markings on the silver Bocce balls. And the boss man……his Bocce balls were impressive. They shone brightest in today’s sunlight and they had the most distinctive patterns. You just knew that they belonged to the boss.

This is serious business when the tape measure comes out.
This is serious business when the tape measure comes out.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

4 thoughts on “Bocce anyone??”

Leave a comment