Safety first!

The fleuro was all important warden equipment for the all important evacuation practice.
The fluoro was all important warden equipment for the all important evacuation practice.

Today was evacuation practice day.

Gee wizzy. The excitement and the thrill of it all.

Out came the fluoro vests. On went the hard hats. Out came the whistle. And outside we all went…….for a whole 90 seconds.

One woman wanted to rush back inside because she couldn’t see her husband outside with the rest of us. God love her. She’d rather go up in the imaginary flames with him than be left alone.

Another woman insisted that she needed to use the toilet first. Really woman?? You’re going to use the toilet while there is an evacuation taking place???? I know that I’d rather pee myself outside in safety than be found burnt to a crisp because I thought I’d better have that nervous pee before joining the other evacuees outside.

Evacuation practice completed for another few months. I think I’ll have a cup of tea to recover from the excitement of it all.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

2 thoughts on “Safety first!”

  1. AVA did one also. We had an imaginary kitchen fire. There was one guy who wanted to finish his email first and a dad who evacuated with 2 kids but left the 3rd and youngest playing on the touchscreen. Thankfully the little dude came along with me when I asked him to. Fun & games

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment