Bubbles and blue skies

This photo was a lucky fluke.
This photo was a lucky fluke.

If ever a day needed to be sunny, but not too sunny, warm, but not too warm and have a bit of a breeze, but not be blowing a gale………it was today. For today was the day that the teddy bears had their picnic………in Moonee Ponds.

The Moonee Valley City Council, for whom I work, held their first Teddy Bear’s Picnic in Clarinda Park today and I was privileged to be asked to be their storyteller. The sun was shining, the grass was green, the playground was waiting and so too was an enthusiastic crew from the council’s sport and recreation team. They had craft, they had face painting, they had balloons and balloon sculpting, they had free coffee for an hour and they had ME!!!!

They also had a fantastic response from the community of Moonee Valley. There were a few hundred people, kids, families, family day-care workers, grandparents, dads, aunties, friends…….you name them, they were there. Picnic blankets quickly began to carpet the park as picnics were magically produced from bags and under prams.

Kids ran around together with beautifully painted faces, grown-ups lined up for their free caffeine hit, the craft marquee did a roaring trade and I got to tell stories and re-enact “We’re going on a bear hunt”. …….Twice.

So please accept my apologies if today’s blog is perhaps not as eloquent as some of my others, but my eyes are hanging out of my head. I have had a BIG day and have just culled and edited 101 photos from today. I nearly turned off the computer after editing the last photo. I almost forgot that I still had a blog to write.  Almost.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

3 thoughts on “Bubbles and blue skies”

  1. doesn’t the bubble encapsulate the day though! The pleasure and excitement of childhood and the outdoors. It was not the end of the day and the bubble had not burst yet, for children and adults.

    Like

Leave a comment