Yes, I know. It’s after midnight.

I love my marvellous Melbourne at night.
I love my marvellous Melbourne at night.

You don’t have to tell me that I’m late. I’m very aware of this fact. But friends before photographs. That is my motto.

I was having a delightfully, delicious dinner with my ‘old’ bosses in Williamstown. We don’t rush our get-togethers. We eat, we chat, we laugh, we make inappropriate adult comments and we solve the problems of the world. These things should never be rushed.

Now, it was not quite a week ago that I was in Williamstown, last Sunday in fact, and to describe the weather that day as ‘Wintery’ would be an understatement. Last Sunday was wet, windy, grey and freezing bloody cold. Tonight, though quite cold, was clear and still. And my marvellous Melbourne looked absolutely glorious.

So after dinner and after bidding my dinner companions a fond farewell I grabbed my trusty Nikon D5100 and my tripod out of the car and ventured into the brisk evening to grab a photo or two of my marvellous Melbourne from across the waters of Williamstown and Port Phillip Bay.

Then there was the trip home………

the uploading of the evening’s photos…………………….

the editing of some of the evening’s photos………………………..

the writing of the blog…………………………..

So I’m late.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

2 thoughts on “Yes, I know. It’s after midnight.”

Leave a comment