Fab Fitzroy

Yes, a cat. But not a real cat. :-)
Yes, a cat. But not a real cat. 🙂

I had cause to be in the inner-Melbourne suburb of Fitzroy yesterday. A work related reason that meant that I got to go on an excursion and get paid for it!!!

I will be the first to admit that I don’t get out much, and if I do I tend to wander into the same areas, suburbs and beaches. But that is what people do. If you live in an area you tend to stay around that area for all your shopping, restaurant or entertainment needs. And unless you are forced into other suburbs because of work or study commitments, your time is spent at those commitments or commuting to and fro. It’s only when you move house and relocate that you start to discover new places and new neighbourhoods.

I was in Fitzroy with a work colleague to visit a unique story-time session that they run at the Fitzroy library. What a magnificent building the library is in!!! Admittedly, the current library now occupies a tiny part of the building but in it’s day………classic monolithic architecture!!! It must have been amazing.

Pretty much all of Fitzroy is amazing buildings. Old buildings that now are home to beautiful restaurants, quirky design stores, kitsch bars, gorgeous florists and cafes. Rows and rows of terrace houses and cottages in narrow streets. Tiny little areas of parkland tucked away in corners. But the most amazing aspect of Fitzroy, to me, was/is all the graffiti art. Poor Libby was starting to wonder if we were going to make it back to work for the afternoon shifts because all I wanted to do was pull the car over every couple of blocks to take photos.

I was a good girl and didn’t stop the car once. I waited till my working day was over and drove back into Fitzroy again to have a little explore.

It won’t be the last time I wander those streets with camera in hand.

Published by

suzieflooze

A latecomer into the world of photography, I have found something that excites and motivates me. I proudly own a Nikon D5100 and last year upgraded to the D750 and it is my constant travelling companion. Wherever I go....it goes. I have done a CAE beginners course on DSLR photography as well as a 6 week class with the Moonee Valley Incinerator Gallery. Both courses taught me heaps and the two teacher were both incredible in their own ways. I am using this blog to develop my knowledge and my skills. It will probably become both a diary and tutorial for me so please be prepared for both. My friends are very encouraging and supportive of this path that I've decided to walk. They seem to think I'm a great photographer. I sincerely thank them for their encouragement but am acutely aware that I am a 'new' photographer not a 'great' photographer. I've seen great photography......I have a long way to go. And this is why I have taken up this challenge. I don't expect to create art every day, but I do believe that opportunities for capturing 'that' moment are right before me and I hope that I am able to capture with a lens what I see in my heart and mind.

2 thoughts on “Fab Fitzroy”

Leave a comment